The Definition of a Friend?

19 04 2008

Sometimes I wonder what the requirement would be to count someone as a “friend.” Are people too free with putting others in that category or am I being a cynic?


To me, a friend is someone who’s been there for me over the years, through thick, through the thin–someone who picks me up when I’m down. But then, I see other people who hang out with someone once or twice, and they assume that person is a friend for life. For me, I have to really know someone inside and out before I know it’s totally okay to let that person in.


It kind of gets to me when I see someone I know deeming someone their new “best friend” while completely leaving old friends behind. They should know that their longtime friends will always be there, and the “flavor of the week” might not be all that they seem.


What do you think qualifies someone to be your friend? I’d be curious to read what you have to say. Please leave a comment.


Take Care & Stay Safe


Actions

Information

5 responses

19 04 2008
Amethyst

I consider you a friend, but if I went with your idea of what a friend is, I wouldn’t:)

A friend to me is someone I can be myself around without being judged. Your idea of a friend is my idea of a best friend. But, then again, I have a best friend whom I haven’t known for a year even.

When you hang out with someone once or twice, they are more of an acquaintance than a friend. I don’t know. I can say a lot about this;p

19 04 2008
The Archer

It is truly an honor Amethyst.
I see you as a friend as well. I’m not limiting the criteria of “what a friend is”, but I’m just commenting on a recent experience.

“H”, one of my best friends, has this new friend who has ben hanging out with him WAYID. I don’t know this person personally, but I have heard that he’s a trouble maker [ok, we all are but heh :p].

I’m just being cautious, but “H” thinks I’m overreacting. All of us, my friend and me, have noticed that “H” was drifting away, acting out, and being violent. He hasn’t been calling; not even to say hello.

I’m just frustrated. We all are.

And btw, I wasn’t referring to “R” if that’s what you’re thinking. “R” is a true gem. She’s lucky to have you as a best friend as you are to have her as one.

20 04 2008
Anonymous

and u changed ur blog because …..?!!!

20 04 2008
Anonymous

and u changed ur blog because …..?!!!

20 04 2008
The Archer

lol, I needed a fresh start.

Who is this?

Leave a comment